How nice to sleep in a bed

I will never have an excuse to be ungrateful.

Last night I slept in a bed, instead of on the awkward, slightly padded chairs of an airport.

But even when I slept on those airport chairs, I wasn’t outside in Japan’s non-stop rain.

But even if I had been, I would have at least been huddled up with my loving husband.

And even if we had been separated somehow, I would have felt the love and prayers of my family afar.

And even if I didn’t have a family, I would have a tomorrow to hope in.

Today I got to have a wonderful free breakfast of oatmeal, yogurt and eggs. How fortunate I feel for it, ending a stretch of days where Drew and I had to eat as cheaply as possible, cutting corners wherever we could.

But even during that stretch of budget-meals, at least I had a bit of change to buy a meal with.

And even if I hadn’t had that money to buy food with, I had a tomorrow to hope in.

I don’t think I’ll ever be so “without” that I can’t find something to be grateful for. If the poorest of the poor in Cambodia and Sri Lanka and China find reasons to laugh and smile every day, what excuse could I ever have to be ungrateful.

Leave a Reply

